ACA 6 was introduced by Assemblymember Kevin McCarty (D-Sacramento) and are proudly co-authored by Assemblymembers Carrillo (D-Los Angeles), Bonta (D-Oakland), Gipson (D-Carson), Gonzalez (D-San Diego), Kalra (D-San Jose), Kamlager-Dove (D-Los Angeles), Mark Stone (D-Monterey Bay), and Weber (D-San Diego) and Senator Wiener (D-San Francisco).

ACA 6 is sponsored by the Free the Vote (FTV) Coalition, led by Initiate Justice, ACLU of California, Anti-Recidivism Coalition (ARC), All of Us or None, Californians United for a Responsible Budget, California Secretary of State Alex Padilla, League of Women Voters of California, Legal Services for Prisoners with Children, People Over Profits San Diego, Vote Allies, and White People for Black Lives.